Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Hey Garth.. you owe me $5

So tonight I was telling a friend about how a little girl I was baby sitting had to "call" Justin Bieber to tell him she was having a new baby brother.. and to say good night of course.... after we laughed about it he said he wonders if he ever did anything like this.. like try and call Hanson or something? This hit a raw nerve with me because to my dying day I will love me some Garth Brooks but he completely broke my heart when I was 9....and those of you who know me pretty well have already heard this story a million times but I am just hoping that Ellen or someone like that will get wind of it one day and help me find retribution. But  anywho.. one summer before I went to camp I wrote Garth Brooks a letter (how I found his address before the days of the internet is beyond me.. but I have always been resourceful)... but anywho.. I distinctly remember sitting on my floor next to my tape player listening to my Garth Brooks tape and writing him a letter that said how much I love him and how I was fixing to go to camp and not need the money I made selling "wrapping paper" (now this was no ordinary wrapping paper.. it was printer paper that I took the time to draw on and sell  to my family and neighbors to wrap presents with.. yeah impressive.. I know!) so I was sending him $5 so he could send me a signed picture. I  then humbly informed him  that I know its not much but I am only 9 years old so it would have to do. All summer I waited patiently for my signed picture of him.. my parents worked at the camp so I would call and ask my grandmother if I had gotten any mail at the house. Camp had passed that summer and it was right before school was about to start (I really honestly and truly cannot remember much from my childhood but I remember all of this) and I know this because I was secretly "testing" out my new school tennis shoes after I had been asked not to...got caught.. and had to spend some time in my room for this horrible infraction... but this punishment was totally eclipsed when the letter.. from Garth Brooks arrived. I opened it with more anticipation then anyone has probably ever had and there was NO picture. What I held in my hand was a letter from a lady thanking me  for being such a great fan and that Garth would love to write me himself but he is on tour at the time. I was in shock.. and there might have been a few tears shed but then I pictured this woman being his good friend and that she must know him so that is kind of cool but then I suddenly realized that wait a minute.. she STOLE my $5. Who steals money from a 9 year old that is trying to start her own wrapping paper business? Ludicrous.... I know! I obviously have never fully recovered from the disappointment that happened 16 years ago...but I know Garth is a kind and fair man and if he knew that someone in his camp took my hard earned money to probably later buy a hamburger or something  he would make things right.. what he doesn't know though..... is that I have been charing interest!

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Priiivate eyes.. are watching you..

I love that song by Blake Shelton that goes.... "who are you when I'm not looking" and when it came on the radio today I turned it up and started jamming out. So here I am coming home from work jamming out to this song that is asking..who are you when I'm not looking when I get stopped at a traffic light and look over to my right only to see a woman walking around in a parking lot talking on her cell phone.. while pulling her hot pink thong up out of her pants for everyone to see...and I don't mean just a light tug on them.. she was literally wrapping it around her fingers.. now I am no expert on thongs but I can imagine that pulling your little g-string thong up that far and twisting it can not be that comfortable..or maybe it was just an old worn out favorite of hers and it was not responsible for the worlds worst wedgie.. who knows.. all I know is that it got me thinking while listening to Blake's song.. what do we do when we forget that other people are looking??? I know in this particular case this lady that looked nice and normal enough was probably in a deep conversation with her bff and had no clue that she was exposing her G-string talents to everyone passing by. Just like the guy I saw yesterday that was standing out in the wal-mart parking lot talking to his friend about the tent he obviously just purchased and forgot that other people sitting in their cars could clearly see him reach down in his pants and adjust himself...I mean getting a new tent is exciting and all but you just made eye contact with me 10 seconds ago so you know I am there..But the truth is I guess I can not talk.. I am a repeat offender when it comes to forgetting other people are around sometimes.. but if you think about it we all have those moments where we think...shit I hope no one saw that. Like the other day when it was cold I wore tights with my dress to work and when I got there I just got out of the car and pulled and adjusted the darn things til they were comfortable..(being lady-like and not lifting my dress of course) completely forgetting that everyone else arrives at this time and is usually in the parking lot with me...I was quickly reminded that even though I forgot... one of my co-workers was in fact looking.. he asked me if I was ready for work now that I got everything situated..I just told him I was going to charge him a dollar next time for looking. I would say I am the worst in my car though.. aren't you? I get in there and sometimes wish I had illegal tinting on all of my windows.. personally I do not know why anyone would feel the need to laugh at my dance moves but alas they do..seriously though.. you have to get creative while trying to drive and dance at the same time and when a Hanson song comes on the radio it is impossible to remember that there are other drivers that can see you. I always wonder what people are listening to when I see others doing this.. One of the funniest stories of disregard for people looking happened to me at work...again...but my boss is completely blind so you kind of get use to not really paying attention to what you are doing in front of him and one day at lunch I was eating some yogurt that...let's just say got away from the spoon and landed among the mountains below.. I am accustomed to eating lunch with other women and a blind man so naturally I just reached down there and took care of that yogurt..totally forgetting that we had a volunteer eating with us that day.. I'm pretty sure he did not mind my obliviousness but I was embarrassed when I realized what I had done.. I could go on and on with stories but I will stop and answer Blake's question.. no I do not poor a little something on the rocks.. or sink to my nose in a bubble bath.. I pick wedgies.. dance in car like an idiot..and give out free shows involving yogurt thank you very much..What have you caught yourself doing when you forgot someone else was looking???

Sunday, March 13, 2011

My First Blog...

So for the longest time I wanted to start a blog but thought my life is not exciting enough for one...and then today it hit me...hold up there poncho it really does not matter. So here I am in the blogger world! Just a few warnings for you readers out there.. I type like I think..which means there is going to be lot's of these ........, random thoughts, and probably a few run-on sentences. I once sent a "secret" letter of encouragement to a friend that was going through a tough time and I really went all out to disguise who it was from  because sometimes I like to revert back to my Harriet the Spy days and I felt like being all secretive about it...never the less he apparently immediately knew who it was from because "there was a terrible run-on sentence at the end." So obviously that means I am a notorious run-on sentencer and that my old english teacher was right when she said I could be a great writer if I just took the time to learn grammar.. I tried to explain to her that I do not do details well and that the only thing that I enjoyed grammar wise is madlibs... which by the way is still one of my favorite things to do to this day. They are always a beach essential and recently on a 13 hour train ride down to New Orleans myself and 3 other 25 year olds spent hours laughing hysterically at the worlds greatest word game.. if you play your cards right I might share a page with you one day! But anywho.. if you can deal with all of the very unnecessary periods and the run-on sentences I promise to keep you entertained while sharing my daily happenings. Aaaannnddd drum roll please... here I go pressing the button and publishing my first post!